About Us

about newcastle neptunes

Newcastle Neptunes started on the sixteenth day of October 1953, and it is the oldest and the largest spearfishing club in Australia.

The Neptunes hold club meetings. Please refer to calendar and Facebook for date and venue. These meetings are scheduled to preceed competitions where possible, refer to calendar for dates.


The original formation of the Underwater Spearfishermen's Association of New South Wales was based in Sydney in 1948. Competitions in those days were unrestricted and held from dawn till dark irrespective of weather conditions.

In 1957 the Neptunes received approval to organise the State Spearfishing Championships, an event only previously conducted by the State Organisation. Because of the success of this event the Neptunes received Australian Underwater Federation (then USFA of Australia) approval to organise the First Australian Pacific Coast Championships at Shoal Bay, Port Stephens. This inaugural event was won by George Davies. George was the original Publicity Officer for the club and was elected to Secretary in 1955, a position he held until 2017.

The club has hosted numerous international teams competing in the APCC which became known as the "Spearfest" series in 1988 when it was a official event of the National Bicentennial Celebrations. Visiting teams included those from New Zealand, Tahiti, New Caledonia and Japan.

The club is extremely proud of its long lists of both State and National Championship divers, a number of whom have represented Australia in the World and other International competitions.

The Neptunes is a incorporated organisation and is truly proud of its historical achivements both competitively and otherwise. Membership is invited to any diver with a interest in responsible spearfishing or social activities.



Tyler Drake

Vice President

Mitchell Kirsopp/Paul Riorden

Secretary & Treasurer

Dallas Davies


Records Officer

Connor McCook and Darren McCook


Safety Officer

Tyler Drake

Jarrad Phelps

Environmental Protection Officer

Greg Finn

Website Maintenance Officer

Dallas Davies

Jacob Elias

Junior Development

Phil Green

Public Officer

Dallas Davies

Fundraising/Grants Officer


Facebook Officer

Jacob Elias/Jarrad Phelps

Financial Committee

Dallas Davies

Steve Elias

Paul Marshall

Darren McCook

Paul Riorden